Organisational structure

Peter Hughes

Peter Hughes CNZM (he/him)

Public Service Commissioner and Head of Service | Te Tumu Whakarae mō Te Kawa Mataaho

As the Head of Service, Peter is a visible system leader for all public servants.

Peter leads the Public Service chief executives, who form the Public Service Leadership Team, to steward New Zealand’s public management system.

Helene Quilter

Helene Quilter QSO (she/her)

Deputy Public Service Commissioner | Te Pou Turuki mō Te Kawa Mataaho

As Deputy Public Service Commissioner, Helene has the same statutory powers as the Commissioner and is able to undertake his duties in his absence.

Heather Baggott

Heather Baggott (she/her)

Deputy Public Service Commissioner & Deputy Commissioner, Leadership, Diversity & Inclusion | Te Pou Turuki mō Te Kawa Mataaho

As Deputy Public Service Commissioner, Heather has the same statutory powers as the Commissioner. Heather has a particular focus on the Māori-Crown interface and promotes the diversity and inclusion priorities for the system.

Hannah Cameron

Hannah Cameron (she/her)

Deputy Commissioner, Strategy & Policy | Kaikōmihana Tuarua, Te Tohutohu Rautaki me te Kaupapa Here

Hannah’s policy team leads the Commission’s system reform work, providing advice and innovative tools to support the future design of the public sector. Hannah is responsible for the Commission’s data collection and analysis functions, which inform our work on Public Service design and reform.

Catherine Williams

Hugo Vitalis (he/him)

Deputy Commissioner, Integrity, Ethics & Standards | Kaikōmihana Tuarua, Te pono, te matatika me te tautikanga

Hugo manages the Integrity, Ethics and Standards group, which provides leadership to support public servants to act with the highest levels of integrity, and to build New Zealanders’ trust in public services.

Erik Koed

Thor Gudjonsson (he/him)

Deputy Commissioner, System & Agency Performance | Kaikōmihana Tuarua, Te Aromātai Whakatutukitanga

Thor's group plays a key role in driving system and agency performance. His responsibilities include supporting the recruitment, appointment, and employment of Public Service chief executives. The group also leads the Commission’s engagement with Crown entities and provides advice and guidance to agencies on the interpretation and implementation of the Cabinet Fees Framework.

Dale Farrar

Alex Chadwick (she/her)

Acting Deputy Commissioner, Workforce, Employment & Equity | Kaikōmihana Tuarua, Te Ohu Mahi, te Mahi me te Whakaōrite

Alex’s group leads the development of the Public Service’s workforce strategies, driving improvements in fair pay and pay equity and other areas that contribute to the Public Service being an exemplar employer. Alex leads the Public Service’s strategic employment relations management.

Duane McKibben

Duane McKibben (he/him)

Deputy Commissioner, Organisational Capability and Performance | Kaikōmihana Tuarua, Whakatutukitanga ā-Whakahaere

Duane’s group enables the Commission to deliver and perform at its best. Organisational health, continuous improvement of the operating model and modelling best practice for the Public Service are important parts of the Commission being ahead of the game, fit for the future and enabled to lead and serve. His group provides a range of corporate and enabling services including communications and engagement, finance, human resources, information technology, planning and reporting, risk and assurance, workplace and administration.

Alastair Hill

Alastair Hill (he/him)

Chief of Staff, Office of the Public Service Commissioner | Upoko o ngā Kaimahi, Te Tari a Te Tumu Whakarae mō Te Kawa Mataaho, Upoko Ratonga

Alastair is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Office of the Public Service Commissioner. As chief of staff, Alastair is responsible for enabling the business of the Commission and supporting the Commissioner in his leadership role.

Nicola Purvis

Nicola Purvis (she/her)

Chief Legal Officer | Āpiha Mātāmua ā-Ture

Nicola leads the legal team who are responsible for the provision of legal advice to the Commission and assisting legal colleagues in the wider public sector. The legal team also manages the legislation administered by the Public Service Commissioner, provides assurance that operations are legally compliant, and gives advice on machinery of government matters.

Tania Ott

Tania Ott (she/her)

Deputy Commissioner, Public Service Fale | Kaikōmihana Tuarua, Te Whare Pasifika

Tania’s team plays a key role in the Commission’s international relationships across the Pacific public service. Tania leads the Public Service Fale team who are responsible for serving and facilitating the Pacific Public Service Commissioners to achieve their goals and strengthen public services for their citizens.

Last modified: