Celebrating the spirit of service and outstanding commitment to New Zealand.

In 2018, New Zealand public service chief executives established the Awards and Recognition Programme to promote a sense of pride and belonging across the Public Service. The programme recognises public servants and initiatives that exemplify the spirit of service and demonstrate an outstanding commitment to New Zealand.

Te Hāpai Hāpori | Spirit of Service Awards are open to organisations across central and local government, including Crown entities. They celebrate outstanding public sector governance, young leaders and initiatives that deliver great outcomes motivated by a spirit of service to the community. There are five award categories organisations may enter. Finalists present to a judging panel, and Award winners are announced at an Awards event.

Te Rā Ratonga Tūmatanui | Public Service Day Awards recognise public servants who exemplify the spirit of service and are making a real difference through their everyday work for New Zealand or New Zealanders.

Te Tohu Manawaroa a Te Kawa Mataaho | Public Service Commissioner’s Commendation for Service celebrates public servants who have served 30, 40 or 50 years in the New Zealand public service.

Nominations for the 2020 Spirit of Service Awards and Public Service Day Awards are now closed.

The Public Service Day Awards ceremony will be held at the Banquet Hall, Parliament on Monday 2 November.

The Spirit of Service Awards ceremony will be held at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, Wellington on Monday 9 November.


To find out more, click on the links below.

Spirit of Service Awards
Public Service Day Awards
Commendation of Service

Last modified: