Te Tohu Manawaroa a Te Kawa Mataaho | the Public Service Commissioner's Commendation for Service recognises public servants who have served 30, 40, and 50 years in the Public Service. These individuals have committed their careers to serving New Zealanders.

The recognition was launched on 10 December 2019.

Ngā tapatanga | Nominations

Nominations for Te Tohu Manawaroa a Te Kawa Mataaho | the Public Service Commissioner’s Commendation for Service can be made at any time. There are four nomination rounds each year, and certificates are printed and distributed to agencies within one month of closing.

Closing dates for 2022 print runs are: 

  • 25 February 2022 
  • 6 May 2022 
  • 5 August 2022
  • 11 November 2022 

Nominations can be provided in advance so that a certificate is ready to present on an upcoming anniversary.

Here is the nomination form (206 KB | PDF) and guidelines for Te Tohu Manawaroa a Te Kawa Mataaho | the Public Service Commissioner’s Commendation for Service.

Ngā Aratohu | Guidelines 

Who can make a nomination?

Only chief executives of Public Service agencies and Crown agents can nominate public servants for Te Tohu Manawaroa a Te Kawa Mataaho | the Public Service Commissioner’s Commendation for Service. It is awarded to employees who have worked in the Public Service for a total of 30, 40, and 50 years.

Eligible public servants are the employees and chief executives of the Public Service agencies listed in Schedule 2 of the Public Service Act 2020, and Crown agents listed in Part 1 of Schedule 1 of the Crown Entities Act 2004.

Eligibility criteria

  • Te Tohu Manawaroa | the Commendation for Service will be awarded to employees and chief executives of Public Service agencies and Crown agents at 30, 40, and 50 years’ service (service can be continuous or broken, with one or more agencies)
  • At the time of nomination, the nominee must be employed by a Public Service agency or Crown agent
  • Nominations must be endorsed by the employee’s current chief executive
  • There must be no integrity issues in relation to the nominee, that the agency is aware of, that could bring the Public Service into disrepute
  • Nominees must have reached 30, 40, or 50 years’ service on or after 10 December 2019 (when the award was introduced)
  • Retrospective certificates will only be given in special circumstances. For example, if an employee has completed 32 years’ service, and is about to retire, at the chief executive’s request, we will issue Te Tohu Manawaroa | the Commendation for Service (30 years).

Nomination process

  • Nominations can be submitted at any time by email, using the nomination form. Completed forms should be sent to awards@publicservice.govt.nz 
  • Certificates will be printed and distributed four times a year. Cut-off dates for printing will be published on Te Kawa Mataaho | the Public Service Commission website. Please plan ahead if you are arranging for certificates to be presented at or close to anniversary dates  
  • We will confirm receipt of nominations  
  • Please let us know at awards@publicservice.govt.nz if there are any changes to the information supplied.

Delivery and presentation

  • We will deliver a printed certificate, signed by the Public Service Commissioner, to your Head Office
  • The certificate will be delivered in a presentation folder
  • Agencies are responsible for framing and presenting the certificate.


If you have any questions, please contact the awards team at awards@publicservice.govt.nz

Last modified: