Published : 09 July 2021

Te Kawa Mataaho has announced 21 finalists for this year’s Te Hāpai Hāpori | Spirit of Service Awards.

Te Hāpai Hāpori | Spirit of Service Awards are awarded annually to celebrate outstanding public services and initiatives that make a difference for New Zealanders.

A total of 82 entries for five Award categories were received from across the public sector, highlighting the outstanding work of individuals, agencies, organisations and joint initiatives with iwi and communities.

Deputy Commissioner, Integrity, Ethics and Standards Catherine Williams said this year’s entries were impressive and diverse, from around the motu.

Entries ranged from small business COVID-19 recovery initiatives to innovative ways of learning, from transformational workforce strategies to collaborative regional governance approaches for employment and from the arts sector to the justice sector.

“Without exception, the young leader entries are impressive and describe public servants who bring their dedication and professionalism not only to their workplace, but also to their communities,” said Ms Williams.

The judging fortnight takes place from 26 July to 6 August. The winners will be announced on Thursday 16 September.

The Commission’s website provides all the details of the finalists.

The five award categories are:

  • Te Tohu mō ngā Hua E Pai Ake Ana | Better Outcomes Award
  • Te Tohu mō te Ratonga Whakahirahira | Service Excellence Award
  • Te Tohu mō te Tūhonotanga a Ngāi Māori me te Karauna | Māori Crown Relationships Award
  • Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Mahi Whakahaere | Leadership in Governance Award  
  • Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Rangatahi o te Tau | Young Leader of the Year Award

The Prime Minister’s Award is selected from the winners of the first four categories and the Lifetime Achievement Award honours an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to their community and who exemplifies a spirit of service.

Te Kawa Mataaho thanks the awards’ sponsors: The Australia and New Zealand School of Government, DXC Technology, Victoria University of Wellington School of Government, Westpac NZ, and Deloitte.  


Media queries: Grahame Armstrong: 021 940 457. 

Last modified: