Written on 2 July 2019 by Peter Hughes

Spirit of Service Awards 2019 Finalists Announced Blog

I am delighted to announce the finalists of the Spirit of Service Awards 2019.

You will find all the details of the finalists on the Awards page. Reading through this list, I feel immensely proud of the many achievements that have been put forward by organisations across central and local government. 

The Spirit of Service Awards are an opportunity to celebrate outstanding public services and public sector initiatives delivering great outcomes for New Zealanders.

The judges were extremely impressed with the quality of entries, which demonstrated not only public sector excellence but also a spirit of service to the community.

We received 84 entries across five award categories:

  • Better Outcomes Award / Te Tohu mō ngā Hua E Pai Ake Ana
  • Service Excellence Award / Te Tohu mō te Ratonga Whakahirahira
  • Māori Crown Relationships Award / Te Tohu mō te Tūhonotanga a Ngāi Māori me te Karauna
  • Leadership in Governance Award / Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Mahi Whakahaere
  • Young Leader of the Year Award / Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Rangatahi o te Tau 

We also have two special awards, which were not open for nominations: the Prime Minister’s Award, which will be selected from the winners of the first four categories; and the Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented to honour an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to their community and who exemplifies a spirit of service.

The award winners will be announced at an evening event at Te Papa, Wellington, on 12 September. I am pleased to announce that Westpac have come on board to join the generous sponsors supporting the Awards: Australia and New Zealand School of Government; Deloitte; Skills; and Victoria University of Wellington School of Government. 

Congratulations to our finalists, and thank you to all who took the time to apply. I am very much looking forward to Awards night. 

Last modified: