Written on 7 October 2020 by Peter Hughes

SOSA Finalists

Te Hāpai Hāpori | Spirit of Service Awards 2020 finalists announced

I am delighted to announce the finalists for Te Hāpai Hāpori | Spirit of Service Awards 2020.

The achievements of these finalists, nominated from organisations across the public sector,  makes me feel extremely proud.

Te Hāpai Hāpori | Spirit of Service Awards are an opportunity to celebrate outstanding public services and initiatives delivering great outcomes for New Zealanders.

This year has been extraordinary due to COVID-19 and the finalists include a number who have done absolutely exemplary work to support our nationwide response and recovery efforts.

The judges were extremely impressed with the quality of entries, which demonstrated not only public sector excellence but also a spirit of service to the community.

You will find all the details of the finalists here.

We received 62 entries across five award categories:

  • Te Tohu mō ngā Hua E Pai Ake Ana | Better Outcomes Award
  • Te Tohu mō te Ratonga Whakahirahira | Service Excellence Award
  • Te Tohu mō te Tūhonotanga a Ngāi Māori me te Karauna | Māori Crown Relationships Award
  • Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Mahi Whakahaere | Leadership in Governance Award  
  • Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Rangatahi o te Tau | Young Leader of the Year Award

We also have two special awards, which were not open for nominations: the Prime Minister’s Award, which will be selected from the winners of the first four categories; and the Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented to honour an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to their community and who exemplifies a spirit of service.

The award winners will be announced at an evening event at Te Papa, Wellington, on 9 November. Thanks again to our generous sponsors:  ANZSOGTe Herenga Waka—Victoria University of WellingtonWellington School of Business and Government, Deloitte, Westpac NZ and DXC Technology.

Ngā mihi mahana to our finalists, and thank you to all who took the time to apply. I am very much looking forward to Awards night.

Last modified: