Ngā mātāpono o Te Ratonga Tūmatanui Public Service principles

The 5 Public Service principles explain how the Public Service should operate to deliver better services and outcomes for New Zealanders. They are fundamental features, and help to preserve public trust and confidence in the Public Service.

The 5 principles are:

  • politically neutral
  • free and frank advice
  • merit-based appointments
  • open government
  • stewardship.

Public Service Act 2020 — New Zealand Legislation

The role of the Public Service

Public Service chief executives and boards of Crown agents are responsible for making sure their organisations uphold these principles, which give people in Aotearoa New Zealand confidence the Public Service can serve current and future governments. The principles are set out in section 12 of the Public Service Act 2020.

Section 12, Public Service Act 2020