Te Ohu Tumu Whakarae i te Ratonga Tūmatanui | Public Service Leadership Team (PSLT) collectively leads and stewards the Public Service.

The team is headed by the Public Service Commissioner. They work together to make sure that services are delivered in a way which is effective and cohesive.

Members of the Public Service Leadership team standing together looking at the camera.

The chief executives who make up PSLT are leading public sector reform, working together on our key priorities.

PSLT ensures the Public Service takes a joined-up approach to major issues.

Since the 2020 Public Service Act reform, a priority has been developing the role and team culture of PSLT. The value of this was evident through the COVID-19 experience. It supported rapid and innovative delivery across the system.

Where needed, PSLT ensures that all agencies take a unified approach to an issue. An example is the adoption of a common way of building positive workplace cultures.

Positive and safe workplaces 

Workforce Data — Working in the Public Service 

PSLT also sponsors innovative ways of working on key issues. In the past year, it established a working group to define strategic priorities and consider how agencies can better align on key issues.

Members of the Public Service Leadership team having a discussion around a table.

Ko wai mā kei Te Ohu Tumu Whakarae i te Ratonga Tūmatanui Who is in Te Ohu Tumu Whakarae i te Ratonga Tūmatanui | PSLT

PSLT was first formally recognised under the Public Service Act 2020. 

The Act requires that the membership of PSLT include the:

  • Public Service secretaries and chief executives of all departments
  • deputy Public Service commissioners.

The Act also allows the Commissioner to invite the chief executives of other agencies where appropriate, including:

  • Crown agents 
  • departmental agencies 
  • other departments 

This discretion to invite additional members allows the Commissioner to ensure that PSLT includes those leaders whose agencies deliver significant public services or hold important system leadership roles across the Public Service.

  • The additional members from Crown Agents are: ACC; Kāinga Ora; NZTE; Te Aka Whai Ora | Māori Health Authority; Te Whatu Ora | Health NZ; and Waka Kotahi NZTA.
  • The additional Departmental Agencies are: Cyclone Recovery Unit; Ministry of Disabled People; Ministry for Ethnic Communities; National Emergency Management Agency; Social Wellbeing Agency; and Te Arawhiti | Office for Māori Crown Relations.
  • The additional members from other departments are: NZ Defence Force and NZ Police.

Read about other current Public Service leaders on our website.

Current Public Service leaders

You can also find data about Public Service senior leadership and diversity and inclusion on our website.

Workforce Data — Senior leadership 

Workforce Data — Diversity and inclusion

Diversity and inclusion